WLA Book Awards Home | The Otter Award | Nominees | Selection Process |
Voting | Promotion | About Otter Award | The Committee | Award History

The OTTER AwardOtter Book Award Logo

Due to the closing of schools during the Covid-19 pandemic, all awards have shifted their timeline. Votes are due by Friday June 5th. 

Our Time To Enjoy Reading

The OTTER Award is designed for ALL students in grades K-5.

We recognize that elementary children transition into chapter books at different ages and, as such, do not limit our reading or voting to a specific age or grade level.

This Washington State Award is given yearly to a transitional chapter book starting in 2017. The award is sponsored by Washington Library Association's School Library Division and is voted upon by students in Washington State.


Announcing the 2020-2021 WLA OTTER Award Nominees

The OTTER Award – Our Time To Enjoy Reading – is sponsored by the Washington Library
Association: School Libraries Division. Established in 2015, the committee is pleased to
announce the 2020-2021 nominated titles.


  • Sparks!  by Ian Boothby, illustrated Nina Matsumoto (Graphix by Scholastic)
  • Didi Dodo, Future Spy: Recipe for Disaster (Didi Dodo, Future Spy #1) by Tom Angleberger, illustrated by Jared Chapman (Amulet Books)
  • Truman the Dog (My Furry Foster Family, book #1) by Debbi Michiko Florence, illustrated by Melanie Demmer (Capstone Publishers)
  • Stealing the Sword! (Time Jumpers, book #1) by Wendy Mass, illustrated by Oriol Vidal (Scholastic Branches)
  • Isle of Misfits 1: First Class by Jamie Mae, illustrated by Freya Hartas (Simon & Schuster)
  • Mia Mayhem is a Superhero! by Kara West, illustrated by Leeza Hernandez (Simon & Schuster)


2020 OTTER Nominees

WLA's OTTER Award committee is excited to announce the 2020 OTTER Award nominees:

  • Two’s a Crowd (Pug Pals #1)  by Flora Ahn (Scholastic)
  • Mac Undercover (Mac B., Kid Spy #1) by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Mike Lowery (Scholastic)
  • Rosie Revere and the Raucous Riveters (The Questioneers, book #1) by Andrea Beady, illustrated by David Roberts (Amulet / Abrams)
  • Meet Yasmin! by Saadia Faruqi, illustrated by Hatem Aly (Picture Window Books / Capstone)
  • Rabbit’s Bad Habits (Rabbit & Bear, book 1) by Julian Gough, illustrated by Jim Field (Silver Dolphin Books / Hachette Children’s Group)
  • Mr. Wolf’s Class (Mr. Wolf’s Class #1) by Aron Nels Steinke (Graphix / Scholastic)


2019 OTTER Award Winner

WLA's 2019 OTTER Award goes to GAME OVER, SUPER RABBIT BOY! (PRESS START! #1) by Thomas Flintham.


This year, over 7,400 students across the state read and voted for the award!  We thank you for reading and voting, and we hope you enjoyed the nominees.

A breakdown of our votes:

2019 OTTER Award Nominees

Don't Forget! Voting for the 2019 OTTER Award is open until May 10, 2019.  

Any student who has read 2 or more books is eligible to vote, regardless of grade level.  

  • Catstronauts: mission moon by Drew Brockington (Little, Brown)
  • Dragons and Marshmallows (Zoey and Sassafras) by Asia Citro, illustrated by Marion Lindsay (The Innovation Press)
  • Game Over, Super Rabbit Boy! (Press Start!) by Thomas Flintham (Branches/Scholastic)
  • Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen by Debbi Michiko Florence, illustrated by Elizabet Vukovic (FSG / Macmillian Kids)
  • March of the Mini-Beasts (The D.A.T.A. Set) by Ada Hopper, illustrated by Sam Ricks (Little Simon / Simon & Schuster)
  • Dolphin Rescue (Animal Planet Adventures) by Catherine Nichols , illustrated by James Burks (Liberty Street / Time Inc. Books)

We thank you for supporting transitional readers by sharing these titles with students and look forward to announcing another winner next May.


2018 OTTER Award Winner

The OTTER Award Committee is proud to announce The Bad Guys: Episode 1 by Aaron Blabey as the winner of the 2018 OTTER Award for transitional readers.

In its second year, 5,500 students across WA state read & voted for their favorite nominee. The Bad Guys: Episode 1 received 2,024 votes.