WLA Book Awards

Join a Book Award Committee in 2022!

Interested in serving on a WLA Book Award Committee? Please complete this form to be considered for a 2022 committee position! Members for each book award committee are being sought. Learn more about each committee by clicking the related links below!

If you have any questions about the application, please contact the WLA Office at [email protected].

2022 WLA Book Award Posters are Now Available!

As the annual conference is virtual once more, the ScLD was unable to have book award nominee posters printed and available for sale. For 2022, the ScLD has made the Award Posters available for FREE DOWNLOAD for you to print at your leisure. Recommended printing size is 16X20.

Download the 2022 WLA Book Award Nominee Posters:


2021 Winners

Thank you for voting for the WLA Book Awards! The 2020-2021 winners have been announced!

2021 WLA book award winners, featuring the cover of each book winner next to its designated book award logo

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 WLA Book Award Winners!

WCCPBA: Llama Destroys the World by Jonathan Stutzman, illustrated by Heather Fox (Henry Holt & Co)
Sasquatch: Front Desk by Kelly Yang (Arthur A. Levine Books)
OTTER: Sparks! by Ian Boothby, illustrated Nina Matsumoto (Graphix by Scholastic)
Towner: Big Cats by Nic Bishop (Scholastic Press)

The School Library Division proudly sponsors four awards:

The William C. Towner Award

Informational text for grades 2-6, open nominations, committee selected, student voted.

The Towner Award is named after Bill Towner, longtime Seattle librarian and mentor to dozens of librarians. Bill was an outstanding teacher-librarian who worked with thousands of students from all backgrounds and taught all of them his love of literature. Bill showed us how caring teachers and librarians can make a difference.

LogoThe Sasquatch Award

Novels for grades 4-6, open nominations, committee selected, student voted.

Twelve great books are nominees. But only one will win. Fourth, fifth, and sixth graders can participate in the voting process by reading at least two of the nominees. 

The Washington Children’s Choice Picture Book Award (WCCPBA)

Picture book award for grades K-3, open nominations, committee selected, student voted.

The Washington Children’s Choice Picture Book Award was started in 1982. All Washington state students in public and private schools, from kindergarten through third grade in Washington State are welcome to vote. Students hear all 20 nominated picture books, read by their library teacher and/or classroom teacher and participate in literature activities for each book.

The OTTER (Our Time To Enjoy Reading) Award

For transitional readers in grades 1-3, open nominations, committee selected, student voted. 

The idea for this award was born at nErDCamp Bellingham in February of 2015. The original OTTER co-chairs, Arika Dickens and Monica Hodges, met at the free book table and started chatting about the need for a good list of new transitional chapter books with maybe an award, like the Sasquatch Award, but for younger students. They exchanged Twitter information, piloted the program in their own districts, and applied for the award through WLMA (now WLA School Library Division).