WLA Scholarships

WLA's Professional Development Committee will award the below scholarships to support the professional development of WLA members.

2019-20 Scholarship Timeline
May 27 - Applications open
August 1 – Applications close
September 4 – Winners announced in WLA Wednesday Newsletter
October 5 – Winners recognized at Awards Gala in Wenatchee

To Apply

Applications are now open for 2019-20 WLA scholarships! Please submit the application materials by August 1. For details about eligibility and application requirements for each scholarship, click on the scholarship name above.

Scholarship Application
Scholarship Recommendation Form

Scholarship Descriptions

These WLA scholarships are memorial scholarships, created and funded by families and friends in memory of their loved ones to honor each person’s service to libraries. WLA members can continue to donate money in their names.

Maryan E. Reynolds Scholarship: $1000 - $3000 to one or more WLA members who is enrolled in an ALA-accredited Masters degree program and has completed at least one semester or quarter.

Hahn-Ahlers Continuing Education Scholarship: $1000 to a WLA member toward a degree, certificate, or graduate-level study in the Library or Education fields.

John Stanford Continuing Education Scholarship: $1000 to a current WLA member of color toward a degree, certificate, or graduate level study in the Library or Education fields.

Denny Bond Library Paraprofessional Scholarship: $500 or $1000 to a current school library paraprofessional and WLA member toward participation at a local or national library-related conference, workshop, or educational event.
Sponsored by the WLA School Library Division.

Sharon Bates Professional Growth Scholarship: $500 or $1000 to a current school library employee and WLA member toward participation at a local or national library-related conference, workshop or educational event. 
Sponsored by the WLA School Library Division.

The American Library Association (ALA) offers more awards, grants, and scholarships.

Scholarship Requirements

  • Applicants must be individual Washington Library Association members.
  • Maryan E. Reynolds Scholarship ONLY – applicant must be enrolled in an ALA-accredited master’s degree program and completed at least one semester or quarter.
  • Denny Bond Library Paraprofessional Scholarship and Sharon Bates Professional Growth Scholarship ONLY - applicants must be educators or library paraprofessionals working in Washington school libraries, or prospective librarians who intend to work in Washington school libraries 
  • School Library Division scholarships may be awarded for one of the following:
    • Classes toward Library Media Endorsement
    • Advanced study in a library-related field
    • Attendance at a library-related conference
  • Scholarship recipients are required to share the outcome of or information about the results of their scholarship by choosing one of these responses: 
    • prepare a piece for WLA publication 
    • present at a WLA conference, event, or workshop, either a session or a poster for Spotlight on Success

To Donate

If you would like to donate to WLA scholarship funds, please fill out this donation form. Thank you!

2018 Scholarship Winners

On behalf of the WLA Professional Development Committee, we're excited to announce the winners of the 2018 WLA Scholarships! 

  • Magenta Loera – Maryan E. Reynolds Scholarship ($2,000)
  • Meredith Kostek – Maryan E. Reynolds Scholarship ($1,000)
  • Andrea Alaniz – Hahn-Ahlers Continuing Education Scholarship ($1,000)
  • Dovi Mae Patiño – John Stanford Continuing Education Scholarship ($1,000)
  • Chimena Kabasenche – Denny Bond Library Paraprofessional Scholarship ($1,000)
  • Hillary M. Marshall – Sharon Bates Professional Growth Scholarship ($1,000)